What India has done in Sudan
Site of Operation Kaveri, India's 2023 evacuation operation, which also carried nationals of other countries to safety.
At a glance
1
Evacuation operation
India evacuated its own nationals from Sudan. Not counted as assistance to Sudan.
—
Grant assistance recorded
No actual expenditure figure published here yet.
US$677.3M
Government-supported Lines of Credit
7 repayable facilities
0
Recorded development projects
Our development project register is still being expanded and does not yet cover everything India has built.
Evacuation & consular
India evacuated its nationals from Sudan
These operations primarily involved evacuation or consular support. They are documented for historical context but are not included in India's foreign-assistance totals.
Repayable financing
Government-supported Lines of Credit
Credit extended through the Exim Bank with Government of India support. This is money the borrowing government repays with interest — it is never counted as grant assistance.
US$677.3M
New Government-supported Lines of Credit
7
Repayable facilities
US$64.8M
Debt restructuring / interest capitalisation
Not counted as new financing. These refinance interest already owed, so counting them would inflate the figure above with money never newly extended.
- Setting up 4 x 125 MW Kosti Combined Cycle Power Plant in Sudan to be executed by Bharat H…US$350M2006REPAYABLE
- Mashkour Sugar Project (IInd tranche of US $ 150 mn)US$125M2013REPAYABLE
- General purpose: Contracts approved include export of electrification equipment, photovol…US$50M2004REPAYABLE
- Supply of agricultural inputs for the Sudanese Agricultural Bank, technical and laboratory…US$48M2007REPAYABLE
View all 9 credit lines →
| Purpose | Borrower | Amount | Signed | Nature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setting up 4 x 125 MW Kosti Combined Cycle Power Plant in Sudan to be executed by Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd. (BHEL). | Government of Sudan | US$350M | 23 Jan 2006 | New credit |
| Mashkour Sugar Project (IInd tranche of US $ 150 mn) | Government of Sudan | US$125M | 24 Jul 2013 | New credit |
| General purpose: Contracts approved include export of electrification equipment, photovoltaic cells, diesel coaches, rehabilitation of locomotives, textile machinery, copper rods etc. | Government of Sudan | US$50M | 19 Jan 2004 | New credit |
| Supply of agricultural inputs for the Sudanese Agricultural Bank, technical and laboratory equipment to Higher Educational Institutions, scientific equipments for Ministry of Science and Technology, solar electrification & meeting requirements of Sudan Railways | Government of Sudan | US$48M | 12 Feb 2007 | New credit |
| Capitalization of Interest under operative LOCs for change in terms of the existing LOCs | Government of Sudan | US$45.17M | 24 Jul 2013 | Interest capitalisation |
| SINGA-GEDARIF transmission and Sub-Station Project | Government of Sudan | US$41.9M | 23 Jan 2006 | New credit |
| SINGA-GEDARIF Transmission line extension to Galabat, micro-industrial projects and development of livestock production and services | Government of Sudan | US$37.44M | 23 Jul 2007 | New credit |
| Mashkour (earlier Elduem) Sugar Project at White Nile State (Ist tranche of US $ 150 mn) | Government of Sudan | US$25M | 26 Jan 2009 | New credit |
| Capitalization of Interest under operative LOCs for change in terms of the existing LOCs | Government of Sudan | US$19.61M | 27 Apr 2017 | Interest capitalisation |
Evidence
Where this comes from
Every figure above keeps its source. Open this to see each one, and which are direct links to the exact document.
Sources & evidence3 sources1 with a direct link to the exact document.View sourcesHide
Lines of Credit
EXIM Bank of IndiaOFFICIAL SOURCEExim Bank of India — Government of India supported Lines of Credit, signed LOC statistics as on 31 July 202631 July 2026 · SignedLOCStatisticsReport↗Additional official repositories
Official publishers whose individual supporting document has not been resolved to a direct link yet. These do not carry the same weight as the sources above.
MEAREPOSITORYMinistry of External Affairs — Press ReleasesDate not stated↗Ministry of DefenceREPOSITORYMinistry of Defence — Press ReleasesDate not stated↗Every published figure keeps its source provenance. Direct links to the exact official document are shown wherever they have been resolved.
Found a mistake?
Tell us
Corrections are welcome and go straight into the review queue. No account needed.